In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that in the past, museums were essential for storing valuable historical and cultural knowledge. However, with the internet offering free access to all kinds of information, museums become unnecessary. From my perspective, I mostly disagree with this statement.

Granted, opponents of remaining physical museums argue the costs associated with maintaining and preserving museums are immense. Every year, the government allocates millions of dollars to staffing, maintenance, and infrastructure upgrades, which can strain an economic burden on the government coffers. However, this reasoning is flawed as museums and historical venues might help boost tourism, which generates significant revenue for both governments and locals. Specifically, they attract an influx of tourists annually who pay for accommodation, food and local services. This could go back to expenses for maintaining and operating physical museums.

In addition, museums serve as institutions of preserving and promoting cultural heritage. For example, the authorities often organize festivals, exhibitions and workshops that showcase local artifacts and artworks, bringing history and culture to life in a way that fosters public engagement. Meanwhile, historical knowledge on the Internet can just be shown through pictures via a small screen. By interactive events, local history can be stored and protected, which is especially important in an increasingly globalized world, where the influence of Western cultures can overshadow regional traditions. Furthermore, museums provide individuals with educational experience that the internet often lacks. While information on the internet can be vast, it is not always verified and censored. Museums, in contrast, offer exhibits that are carefully curated by experts in the field.

In conclusion, despite prohibitive maintenance costs, I contend that museums cannot be replaced by online exhibitions due to tourism growth, historical preservation and educational experience.