In the past most working people had only one job however nowadays more and more people have more than one job at the same time what are the reasons for this development what are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job

There is a growing tendency that people pursue multiple careers at once in comparison with the past. It happens due to high-cost of modern life and opportunity to work remotely which is given by modern technology.

Firstly, there is an increased cost of living nowadays, and consequently people have to pay lots of bills to keep their life at the same level or even higher. Especially, it relates to people who have a big family along with children or other dependent relatives. For example, many people, who work for more than one company, get a second job because they would like either to provide high-quality education in the private schools for their children or get a good health care package for all family members. It is obvious that an extra curriculum in private schools or a good insurance policy will cost extra money, but at the same time will provide more quality services.

Secondly, we live in the time where modern cutting-edge technology has advanced and globalization has reached every developed country worldwide. Given such circumstances every person has computers or laptops to get work done from home. For example, there are many dispatcher departments across the world where employees work directly from home. It leads to removing commuting time from workers’ schedules and opportunity to get freelance work to squeeze in that time.

This trend has its upsides as well as drawbacks. The major benefits are having more money and development of diverse skills in different fields. Professionals who work for two companies have two salaries per month. In addition, working in non-related industries gives them an opportunity to hone different skills. An example of this is an English teacher, who teaches people remotely, might have a side job in a different trade such as interpreting. In contrast there are disadvantages as well, like having less time for personal life and possibility of burnout. It is not surprising that additional responsibilities will be stressful for individuals due to constant pressure. It is crucial to have a rest from work and stress to avoid a burnout and have more personal time.

In conclusion, juggling multiple jobs affects people differently, be it burnout and having less personal time or higher income and ability to build different skills within different industries. Given the above the main reasons for this development are increased cost of life and opportunity for people to work remotely.