In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It has been observed that internet storage of knowledge is gaining popularity because of a shift from paper to internet storage, leading to a heated debate on its advantages and disadvantages. Although it is understandable why some are against this development, I am more inclined towards a school of thought that the potential disadvantages are far outweighed by significant advantages.

On the one hand, the opponents of internet storage may base their position on compelling arguments. Chief among them is that information is published on online websites without thorough verification, resulting in confusing, and even leading knowledge. If people lack critical thinking skills or do not know how to select information or differentiate between true and false, they might be more vulnerable to misinformation and manipulation, causing poor decision-making and the spread of false information. Moreover, people also reckon that the increasing prevalence of e-books as well as online information has facilitated an environment conducive to copyright violations, such as illegal replication and sales of unauthentic books. This situation consequently leads to the potential reputation destruction of authors and publishers and generates disappointment and resentment among buyers if they unintentionally purchase unauthorized versions.

On the other hand, despite the idealistic nature of the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that storing knowledge on the Internet offers a host of significant benefits, relating to accessibility and diversity. Regarding the former, compared to paper-based information, knowledge on virtual forums is more accessible and inclusive for everyone. This is because people could obtain information by visiting websites via search tools, such as Google or Bing, provided that they have a wifi connection, irrespective of time and geographical distance. Furthermore, knowledge is stored on the internet in various forms. Unlike books, which present information in limited modes, only texts, and pictures, online information contains various media elements, ranging from texts and photos to graphs, videos, and audio. This diverse range of content is especially beneficial for those with disabilities. For example, online websites could provide audio for the blind and assistive technology for those with mobility impairments, making the information acquisition process less daunting and more approachable.

In conclusion, while some protest against the switch from paper-based to online information, I contend that these concerns are far overshadowed by impactful and meaningful benefits, associated with the versatility and variation.