International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In 20th century, after the second world-war, global sporting events have become a tradition. A huge portion of individuals view such events in a negative light, for it not only drains the hosting country of financial resource but it also give rise to several problems. This essay strongly agrees with both sentiment.

Hosting an international sporting event which will be seen by millions around the world is a huge burden for a government, since people have high expectations for them to impress through flaunting their wealth. To accomplish this, governments have to spend money, such as paying for the athletes and guests’ accommodation, food, and other necessities. This leads to substantial expenditures that might cripple such country’s economy in which recovery is difficult, especially should the hosting country be classified as third-world. Thus hosting a sporting event of massive scale could be taxing for a government, regardless of whether it is affluent or not.

Aside the financial deficits ensuing from such event, it could also give rise to several problems. Firstly, when a huge event holds a large crowd of people in a single, compact area, terrorist threats are bound to arise in order to cause mayhem. Secondly, once a massive event is done, many tend to dispose their waste anywhere they may find convenient, leaving an arduous task for the volunteers or employees to clean. Ultimately, the people of the nation hosting such event could become disappointed should their country be eliminated or perform terribly. If such people were much passionate towards it, a subpar result could cause foreign athletes to be bashed in social media and assaulted in real life.

In summary, this essay strongly agrees with the sentiment that international sporting events are expensive and are catalysts of problems.