International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, one of the most discussed topics in the world is tourism. International tourism has brought enormous merits, there, however, is worry about its influences on local residents and the surroundings. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this trend has more advantages than disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks behind this trend. Firstly, one of the most significant problems is environmental damage. This is because a large number of people visit to experience natural beauty. They have to stay in a place for almost one week, which requires building many hotels for tourists. As a result, the forest area will be destroyed as well as wild animals will be extinct. Another noticeable disadvantage is that people use excessive amounts of plastic products, which can be vulnerable to water in hotels and resorts. For example, in Vietnam, a small water spot has been damaged by international travellers due to usage of plastics goods.

On the other hand, I would argue that the benefits of tourism service outweigh the demerits. One primary benefit is that tourism helps a country’s economic growth. It is due to the fact that international visitors spend a lot of money to stay, this money adds directly to a country’s economy. Consequently, it can be seen that a country’s main income source is tourism. For instance, in Britain, they earn almost half of their budget from tourism as they have a lot of museums which attract people more and more. Another benefit of tourism is that governments improve road and accommodation facilities. This helps local people in many ways such as, they can travel to another place more frequently than the past. Therefore, tourism not only progresses economically but also develops roads and accommodation.

In conclusion, although tourism can bring some disadvantages such as environmental issues and water pollution, I completely believe that this trend has considerable benefits compared to disadvantages, such as economic growth and infrastructural development.