It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

With the new age of online shopping conglomerate ,and the monopolization of the large supermarket on products, The Local Community markets have never before faced such fierce competition affecting many aspects of their existence. However i believe with conviction that with a couple of important changes the local community markets can thrive again.

The takeover of large supermarkets and online shopping platforms have been years in the making. it has become very detrimental to people who are relying on their locally produced products for livelihood , and with supermarkets chains launching their very own locally sourced products at much lower prices, and coming up with competing products to those of the small local stores the gap between the former and the latter is becoming wider than ever. Also with the growing convenience that supermarket stores offer much of the community is now ignoring the small local shops which is causing even more damage.

In my opinion the only way, that those small local shops have a chance for surviving this wave of fierce competition, is for the government to get involved, and demand the supermarkets opening in the vincinty of small local shops to sign a non-compete on the products sold by those small local shops which basically means that supermarkets can’t sell those products without the local shops permission. Also with the new introduction of new online services such as instacart which provides their own delivery service. small shops can opt to be part of this ever growing community, and extend the reach of many of their products.

In conclusion although supermarkets offer a lot of convenience to a lot of consumers. small shop owners shouldn’t have to suffer the effects of this new age of convenience, and with the solutions offered above they don’t have to.