It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, it is sometimes argued that people who love reading can develop the ability of imagination and language better than watching TV. I totally agree with this view because I strongly believe that reading can bring many benefits of improving both imagination and language skill to the reader.

On the one hand, there are a large number of novels which can transport the reader to another world where the characters in the book become real. For instance, one of the most well-known novels in the world is Harry Potter which depicted a wonderful world full of the mazes. Many people were impressed and interested by the author’s words and vocabulary enabling them to imagine their favourite characters. In contrast, films or movies are applying the most modern technology like CGI to show the wonderful images of the world to the viewer. Therefore, the viewer are not encouraged to develop imagination and just only enjoy the beautiful scene in digital screen

On the other hand, by applying a wide range of vocabulary, gramma in the book, not only the author can inspire their enthusiasm to the reader but also the readers are able to improve their language knowledge. In many social media platforms such as Facebook, Youtube or Tiktok, there are many content creators who analyze how the author use their native language to write meaningful content. In addition, the viewers also improve their language skill by learning the literature style in the book. This is the benefit that the TV watchers are not possible to gain advantages from the movie or films. Almost film-maker create film for entertainment purpose, so they do not make efforts to enhance the language as humorously as possible. That is the reason why nearly all teachers do not advise students to spend time on watching TV as long as they can not develop their literature knowledge.

In conclusion, it is true that the people who love reading books enhance their imagination and language ability more than those who like watching TV.