It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the elderly should continue working if they have ability to do so. Although there are potentially plausible reasons for such belief, I am convinced that this idea can bring several challenges.

Granted, some individuals argue that people should pursue their jobs in their old age. One significant reason is that older adults can have various life and working experiences. This is largely because elderly have worked in several jobs with purpose of earning money for several decades. In long term, old people can face most of working challenges such as low salaries or bad environments, so old adults can earn more trusts from their bosses. Moreover, old workers also have ability to distinguish bad and good behaviors in working environment, and help younger generations to adapt to workplace easily. For example, in many hospitals, younger doctors often receive the training from senior doctors who engaged in healthcare field for a long time, because of their expertise skills. Clearly, it is a good idea for old people continue working in their ability.

On the other hand, there are two main reasons why people should not be allowed to work in their old age, even they have ability. Firstly, old workers can result in low working efficiency. The chief reason is that it is hard for elderly to adapt to new softwares and technologies in working environment today such as electric machines and softwares like Google Docs or Excel. In comparison with young people, elderly have lower working efficiency. For example, in some school, although old teachers have a huge volume knowledge and life experiences, some students prefer young teachers due to their modern teaching methods. In addition, elderly who regularly suffer from health problems such as heart diseases or diabetes, can easily face several working accidents such as falling from high floors. The main reason is that old people who can have many health issues with mild symptoms sometimes do not take their medicine fully. Clearly, it is terrible for elderly to continue working.

In conclusion, although old people have more expertise and experiences in workplace, I hold a firm believe that older adults can lead to limitation of working efficiency and easily suffer from working risks.