It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The issue of whether to let available older people continue working has become increasingly significant. I believe it is a good idea to address aging problems and enhance the average lifespan. Therefore, I largely agree with delaying the retirement age for people who can persist in their careers.

To begin with, the continued work of older people mitigates the demand for the labor force and eases the pressure and expenditure on the government regarding aging issues, such as paying pensions. It also brings higher wages to the elderly than their pensions. As a result, longer working years benefit both individuals and countries financially.

Furthermore, from a workplace perspective, older workers have more experience, which enables them to become instructors and teach new employees. Meanwhile, considering things from older people’s point of view can provide some new insights for companies when developing their products. It encourages companies to retain older employees as they still have advantages in the workplace.

However, retired life can give people more leisure time, enabling them to spend time traveling and doing relaxing activities. But they may lose some opportunities to maintain a healthy lifestyle. According to research in neuroscience and brain science, scientists assert that continuing to think and work can help older people live longer and strengthen their physical health. For instance, constant thinking can prevent Alzheimer’s disease in the elderly.

In conclusion, continuing to work for older people not only benefits them in terms of health and income but also benefits the whole society, such as promoting better work environments.