It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The relationship between modern technology and traditional cultures has always been a great concern of many. Some people argue that this development may accelerate the decline of national identity and I completely agree with the idea. This essay will discuss how technology affects a culture in a bad way.

Admittedly, the benefits of digitalization in enriching the national culture are indeed in plain sights. It is predicated on the assumption that it creates conditions for widening international exchanges and strenthening mutual custom between the residents by sharing cultural heritage, from folk music to indigenous storytelling in the Internet. This virtue gives the country an opportunity to foster a deeper appreciation for their identity. Furthermore, digital divices such as cameras or smartphones allow people to store and preserve the historical documents and languages. For example, UNESCO uses such things to protect endangered languagues, and the corollary of this development would be a unique and sustainable society.

However, there are stronger reasons to say that the increasing affordability of science has posed threats on the culture in more aspects. The root cause is that media and policies of modernization would create the possible danger of harmful cultural products being imported into a country. At present, modern imformation technology across the world is mainly controlled by the US. This means that local people may start to reject their own ways of life to adopt more exotic ones, because they think that these are more enlightened and modern. Consequently, whatever is available at one corner of the globe can easily be found on the other, which has damaged the uniqueness of any area. Additionally, development in technology exerts a negative impact on the preservation of traditional lifestyle. The introduction of many appliances like the microwave and electric grills has radically transformed the way of our traditional cooking. People no longer spend time in the kitchen to make food for themselves as they were used to do before. Hence, the link between the evolution of technology and cultural damage can be seen.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that although technology brings comfort to our lives, it also contributes to the blurring and loss of cultural distinctiveness.