It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

Retirement is one of the most exciting part of the life that many people look forward to. Will retirement become the happiest or saddest period of a person’s life, I believe, depending on the life that person lived before retirement.

I think that retirement is a wonderful period of life when people are finally free from labour and enjoy the results of decades of hard work. People spend more time on things that they love doing. Additionally, I believe that retirement is the best time to travel the world. Retired people have a lot of free time, they do not have to worry about work and looking after their kids. Finally, people have a great family that you built with a person that you love. I think it is a time when you can speak with your child on serious topics. You also become young again playing with your grandchildren. I believe it is fulfilling to be around people that you saw grow up.

However, I also believe that retirement can become the saddest period of your life. Firstly, if you do not look after your health, the consequences will start to appear. It will be too late to completely heal health problems, you can only minimise them. Additionally, if a person did not save up money for retirement, they will not be able to afford retirement. Considering old age and possible health problems, it will be hard to continue working. Finally, I believe that if a person does not build healthy relationships during his life it might become the loneliest period of it. It might feel that it is too late to fix the old relationships and build new ones.

Overall, I believe that how a person will experience their retirement completely depends on their life before retirement. It can become the most exciting or saddest period of people’s life.

Donating to charity is a wonderful opportunity to help less fortunate people. However, it seems to me that not everybody should donate some part of their income to charity. I will explain why in this essay.