It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

Many people believe that the news and TV shows with their violent content play a significant role in the growth of crimes among young people. I disagree with this, as emotional problems and abusive relationships within their families are more important, from my perspective. To combat the issue, psychological help is needed for both juvenile offenders and their families.

Although the violence in the media may act as a trigger for aggressive behavior among children and adolescents, the role of it is exaggerated. The real reasons for juvenile crimes are multifaceted. Firstly, according to investigations, the majority of young offenders suffer from a lack of emotional control. If they encounter a provoking situation, they often behave impulsively. Another leading contributor to the issue is a harsh family environment where these children are raised. Parents of young offenders not only neglect their parental duties but also severely punish their children for minor mistakes. Since children tend to imitate their parents, the antisocial behavior of young criminals is seen by many as a result of the physical abuse of their caregivers.

To resolve the issue, individual and family therapy are needed. Many professionals advocate the idea that young people should receive psychological assistance instead of punishment should they commit crimes. If they could enhance their self-regulation skills, it would help them to stay calm in many provoking situations and avoid many problems. Not only children but also their parents should be provided with such aid. Family therapy could improve family dynamics, helping everyone in a family to resolve conflicts amicably.

In conclusion, the causes of the increasing crime rate are psychological in general, stemming from family relationships. In order to decrease the level of juvenile crime, young offenders and their parents should receive psychotherapeutic help.