It is thought by some people that it is better to live in a city while others believe that life is better in the countryside. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

A rapid growth of urbanization has prompted widespread discussion about whether living and working in the city is the best option for people nowadays. While many people believe that it delivers more opportunities for them, others assert that settling down in the rural areas offers a better quality of life. In my opinion, it depends on personal preference because individuals have their own purposes, and living in each location provides benefits for them in different ways.

On the one hand, a primary advantage of living in the city is that it provides a wide range of career opportunities; many jobs are available, particularly for the working-age individuals graduating in specific fields such as computer science, artificial intelligence engineering, and financial analytics. Moreover, transportation and infrastructure in urban areas are undeniably better than the countryside, allowing residents to access public services more easily. However, living in the city may not be suitable for some people, such as the elderly. Crowded cities often experience high pollution, which include excessive noise and PM 2.5. In addition, the competitive environments in the city may also contribute to mental issues, such as overstress and depression.

On the other hand, locating in the countryside might be a better choice for some people. Although living in rural areas could not offer the convenience such as the cities, it brings substantial benefits for residents in different ways. One major reason is that the natural environment plays a crucial role in improving people’s well-being. In terms of social cohesion, it is known that people in the countryside tend to have strong relationships with each other. These can make rural residents have more happiness.

In conclusion, the consideration of choosing areas of living and working is varied because it depends on the definition of opportunity for individuals. While living and working might be a good decision for working-age individuals, locating in the countryside might be a better choice for the elderly and people who prioritise on their health.