It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In light of technological innovations, numerous projections that the 21st century would bring about a significant increase in freetime for individuals have been made. While there is no doubt that technology serves as the contributor to the boost in productivity, it is also clear that this has not necessarily translated into more leisure time for individuals.

Admittedly, technological strides have revolutionized many aspects of our lives and has allowed us to accelerate the amount of time allocated to completing tasks. In manufacturing, exhaustible physical toil has almost been dispensed with by automated machines and processes, ushering in an era of unprecedented speed and precision in the manufacturing process. In househoulds, instead of shouldering housework responsibilities, people nowadays can devote their time to relaxation or more important priorities thanks to robot cleaners and autonomous washing machines. However, not everyone has the chances to reap these benefits, especially the underpriviledge residents who have little money for purchasing robotic products.

Despite the aforementioned merits, I would contend that people having higher living standards also encounter unwanted challenges. The most commonly cited drawback is that machines have been replacing human workers in almost every area, which has led to intense competition in the labour market. Thus, they are required to consistently remain relevant in today’s increasingly connected world. If individuals rely solely on the knowledge and skills they acquired during their university years to sustain their livelihood, they will inevitably fail to keep pace with the latest technologies used in the workplace, leading to the redundancy. This means that people no longer have the luxury of simply relaxing and unwinding after work. Also, the availability of digital devices and the internet means that we are always connected and always stay active regardless of locations and time zones.

In conclusion, although technological breakthroughs have undoubtedly given rise to greater efficiency and productivity in various aspects of life, it has not led to more leisure time. Instead, both individuals and businesses may have to tirelessly strive to keep abreast of these advancements to remain competitive in this ever-evolving world.