Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback when students do good work, and teachers should never criticize bad work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The past 20 years have seen dramatic increases in the popularity of foreign language learning. As a result, nowadays, some people believe that language teachers should encourage their students and emphasize their success rather than their mistakes. In my opinion, although I believe that it cannot be denied that when people receive positive attitudes, they feel positive and more determined to continue the work, I do not completely agree with this position, since in some cases, knowing and solving your own mistakes can be useful in a pupil’s progress.

First of all, it is undeniable that usually humans are very sensitive to the opinions of other people, especially those who they think are more professional in the area, such as their teachers. Therefore, if students get positive feedback from the authority figure, they feel more confident in themselves, which is notable and important in language development. Whereas, they probably start to speak greatly faster because they believe that they are doing well. Meanwhile, when tutors too often concentrate on bad work, it can potentially lead to losing motivation and a fear of frustration. What would be extremely naughty for speaking fluency.

On the other hand, unfortunately, when individuals are in the process of learning, they cannot understand many aspects; thus, they cannot mark their own works and see their mistakes. Consequently, if teachers mostly concentrate only on good moments, it can become a problem with full knowledge of language. For instance, if a person is great at grammar but has problems with pronunciation, if his or her tutor does not pay enough attention to their speaking skills, it would be difficult for this individual to communicate with native speakers, even if he or she could perfectly write and read in the language.

In conclusion, despite the fact that encouraging from teachers may have a positive impact on students motivation, pedagogues still should give enough consideration to learner bad performances.