Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the fact that a huge amount of companies use sports events to advertise their products, some people think it has a negative effect on sports. While I accept that using sports events is a good way to promote their products, I would argue that it can have some negative impact on society.

On the one hand, it can be argued that there are two clear benefits that companies organize sports events to advertise new products. The first advantage is that Organizing sports events helps cover the event planning costs and makes the events more accessible to the spectators, advertising revenues cover the high costs making the price not high, if not this would drive dans away and hurt the event’s profit. For example, the 2020 Tokyo Olympics attracted a large number of tourists and fans, bringing in a large source of income. Additionally, advertisements can give sportsmen a better living standard. For example, Ronaldo and Messi are two of the richest footballers in the world, being rich they don’t worry about finance and they can focus more on the games.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the negative effects of sports events must not be underestimated. Firstly, sponsorships that featured junk food had increased the rate of child obesity. This means that impressionable kids are more likely to crave junk food when seeing advertisements, which can lead to dangerous diseases such as diabetes, and myocardial infarction. Secondly, Overzealous fans who want to meet their idols can pose a danger to the idol and cause security issues. For example, during a match, fans who get too excited and rush onto the pitch to see their favorite players can delay the match and threaten the safety of the players and referees.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that large companies using sports events to promote their products can gain high profits, I would contend that it can have some negative impact on society. A balance should be stuck between the two to achieve the best outcome.