Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Small shops are being vastly replaced with large supermarkets. This can be beneficial because large malls are located in convenient positions and offer a wide range of goods, but this can also have downsides since within local and small shops customers can create meaningful and familiar relations with workers. Given that, I consider this replacement both a positive and a negative development as well.

On the one hand, this is a positive development because of the convenient position of large malls and the vast assortment of goods that customers can purchase. Urban engineers usually used to build the shopping mall in the central and accessible-for-everyone areas of the city, so that it is broadly near the majority of the population. Moreover, it is common to find an ample variety of food other than local food, including international cuisines such as packed sushi or instant ramen with more competitive prices than small shops. The position of the supermarkets and the variety of food, make the replacement of small shops an improvement.

On the other hand, this is also a negative development since small shops offer a more familiar environment and warmer relationships between the salesperson and the customer. We all know at least one shop situated right near the corner of our house, where we know each of the workers because they are our neighbours. These places serve not only as local shops, in which local communities buy groceries every day, but also as a second home where communication is fostered and friendly interactions can occur. The unique environment of those shops can make their replacement a negative development since in large supermarkets, relations with clients are distant and rare.

In conclusion, replacing small shops with large shopping malls has the upside of the malls’ good position and the vast assortments of goods on one side, but other downsides on the other side. This is because, even if the prices are less competitive, small shops offer a meaningful and familiar environment where the employee-customer relationships are valuable.