Many countries are experiencing a decline in traditional arts and crafts. What are the reasons for this decline? What measures can be taken to preserve these skills and traditions for future generations?

Globally, the cultural Arts and crafts are gradually diminished in contrast with the mass production and modern leisure activities. Globalisation as well as ubernization led to such decline. On the other hand, introduction of cultural curriculams in school by authorities will assist in preserving indigenous lifestyle.

In many parts of the world, acenstral skills saw anegligible availlability due to globalisation, the presence of imported goods has dominated our local markets reducing the artisanal products, a good example its our capital markert, previously 80% of the available items used to be from handcrafts, while industrilized marterials were almost 10%, but thats note the case nowadays, whereby, 90% of of products presence there are from other countries, undoubtedly because manufactures are able to produce more goods within a short time, the increased production results in quick penetration in different markets hence vast availability. Migration and ubernisation have an impact in cutural erosion, people tend to move from their respective homes to cities completely forgeting ones backgrond, mostly in urban settings comprises with individuals from different ethinic groups with various cutural divesities, for uniformity sake majority of them usually adopt the digital way of living since its convinient and easy to live. clearly, abundance and timely presence of materials across the global and shifting of citizens from their original homes to other areas has led into dramattical drop of tradition artifacts.

In order to safeguard tradition, Government should introduce cultural aspects in syllabus , this will make substantial growth in cultural practices because from tender age children will have knowledge on the importance of culture and how to continue being connected to their roots even in adulthood. In Ruanda for instance , a subject called helitage conservation was introduced 5 years ago and a research conducted by George Wiliams in may 2025 indicated that knowledge concerning old age living among pulpils have greatly improved to 60% from the previous 5%. Additionally, a constitution should be introduced to fund indigenous artisans in order to promote their works which can intesfy handmade goods on the market. All in all good policies will preserve ancenstral skills.

In conclusion, Handcrafts dwindled sharpily compared to western items and enjoyment activities due to advanced technology which lead to high production and availability of advanced goods. Authorities can reduce this burden by changing the curriculum and empowering local craftsmanships.