Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many capital cities are confronted with serious housing problems, raising a dilemma on the future existence of park land. While many worry about the consequences of reassigning green areas for residential purposes, this could be the most effective solution to cope with the crisis.

Firstly, the most significant claims that are made regarding the disappearance of park land, are related to the environmental impact. Trees, plants, and other green areas are invaluable for their supply in oxygen and absorbation of CO2. Therefore, removing these areas from towns, might result in unforeseen, detrimental environmental effects, even on a global scale. In addition, studies have shown that neighbourhoods surrounded by forest encourage locals to go outside more regurarly, which benefits both physical and mental health.

Nonetheless, when new houses are built in places that are currently designated to park land, it does not mean that green areas will completely disappear. Nowadays, innovative architecture may allow for smart solutions. Successful practices can be found when visiting New York or Tokyo. In these metropoles, gardens and parks on top of buildings, such as New York’s High Line, are anything but unusual. Not to mention, the improvement of mental and physical health conditions is a supplementary benefit that could only be addressed when the primary need for housing is covered.

Thus, considering the benefits of parks, it is understandable that one worries its disappearance. However, governments ought to mitigate the core issue of housing shortage first, when opportunities to build new green areas could follow.