Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

In many parts of the world, there are more travelers than local residents who visit local museums and historical places. This phenomenon could be attributed to certain factors and this essay will propose some viable solution to make local attractions more appealing to people in their area.

This lack of interest in local ancient sites could stem from two main factors. A probable cause is unaffordable prices. This is due to the fact that the entry fees to these ancient places are priced according to tourists’ spending which is a huge cost for local citizens. Another significant factor to consider is that most people are attracted to novel things. Specifically, people have a tendency to travel abroad to famous cities where they have never been to. For example, several Vietnamese are much more interested in traveling to Western countries to explore the modern culture and lifestyle here than visiting museums and ancient buildings in their areas which are considered to be a normal part of their life.

Several measures could be adopted by the authorities to attract citizens to visit these ancient places in their areas. The first method is adjusting the ticket price to be more suitable with local people’s living expenses. To be specific, the managers of these places could establish a pricing policy which offers a lower cost for people in their area. Another probable solution is hosting some annual events to make these places more entertaining to residents. If there are more festivals at historical places or galleries at museums, the citizens in the local area will find them less monotonous, thereby being more likely to visit it many times.

In conclusion, a high cost and interest in traveling abroad are main factors to explain why museums and historical places are rarely visited by local residents. To make these sites more attractive to visit, the authorities could carry out some measures such as pricing policy and organizing some annual events.