Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

In many historical places and museums, it is becoming commonplace for national as well as international tourists to travel, whereas local residents hardly ever visit those sites. This phenomenon is based on numerous reasons along with solutions that will be elucidated in the essay.

The common explanation about this non-attraction is the frequency of visiting those heritage sites that the local inhabitants spent. It is a disturbing undeniable fact that people will come less to the place around them, which they visit thousands of times. Since those local residents live near the historical sites, they completely understand the places more than others. They know exactly the location, the view and the activities there; as a result, they do not have a tendency to join those frequently. To be more specific, the Hanoians rarely take time to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, which is not only a historical site but also a place to preserve the initial president of Vietnam since they have many chances to come there before. Moreover, people nowadays prefer resting to exploring; they tend to change the pace of life by traveling to different areas. Therefore, those dwellers do not favor local places.

To address this ecological concern, both governments and inhabitants have to join hands for raising others’ awareness. Firstly, the governments should invest more money on constructing the infrastructure of several museums or archaeological sites. They can rebuild the resting areas by adding more types of food, sitting places or re-painting those zones. This would attract local residents by new identification since the young adults tend to focus on the difference, which might appeal to them. Secondly, more activities like traditional sports competitions should occur in historical sites more often. Those activities bridge the gap among people, creating a bustling atmosphere. Therefore, those will not only bring people numerous opportunities to improve their practical skills but also approach more participants.

In conclusion, each dweller should be aware of the vitality of museums or heritages around them. From this case, the governments should encourage them more by several attractive policies.