Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

After incarceration, many re-offence under the influence of the criminogenic environment, This can be addressed by implementing reentering programs based on a mentoring approach.

Neighborhood-level factor is primary reason for commiting more crimes after being released from prison. Re-offenders are products of their environment as many of them originate from deprived areas and if after release, they find themselves there again. Being in the confines of such low-income neighborhoods, with a greater availability of drugs and alcohol and gang-related activities, can seduce a newly released criminal into returning to the old path. For instance, those who served punishment for drug dealing, are more likely to get in touch with their former gang members if they live next door, which often results in re-offence

To break the cycle of recidivism, mentoring programs which provide additional support to resist a criminogenic environment can be implemented. Mentoring provided in groups or individually can play an important role in keeping them involved in a reentering program, employed and out of trouble. Having meetings with their non-judgemental mentorssnd be in supportive environment or attending in a group sessions where they can be listened to and feel support from others. Moreover, listening to the stories of other ex-convicts can help them feel that they are not alone. Mentors not only help them to about solvong problems and thinking about the decisions they have made, they help to maintain contact with ex-criminals, so that they know there is someone whom they can rely on.

In conclusion, committing more crimes after the first imprisonment is mainly caused by neighborhood external factors, which can be therefore tackled by implementing a mentoring component into a reentering program. Only a united front of society and the government can provide a pathway to lasting rehabilitation.