Many parents today do not spend much time with their children. Why is this? Does this affect parents or children more?

In contemporary life, a growing number of parents spent significantly less time with their children. This is mainly caused by widespread use of technology along with demanding work schedules. Children suffer more from this situation.

There are several main reasons why parents spending less their families. The primary factor is the modern technology which is plays a vital role in this issue. Even when adults are at home, they often spend a lot of time in their smartphones, cheking work emails or scrolling through social media. Due to this they have lower energy to talk to their kids. Another important reason is the demanding work schedule and high cost of living. In order to pay for necessities such as education and basic needs, many parents must work long hours or take an extra shifts. Consequently, when they finally return home, they are physically exhausted, leaving them with almost no time or energy for their children.

While parents may feel guilty and stressed because they miss important moments in their children’s lives, children suffer much more from this lack of attention. During their early years, children need emotional support, love and social skill development. If parents are constantly busy or absent, children might feel lonely and neglected, which is lead to low self-esteem and academic difficulty. While adults have developed coping mechanisms for stress, children can’t handle being alone.

In conclusion, parents spend less time with their children today mostly due to digital distractions. While this problem brings guilt and stress to parents, I believe that children are affected more.