Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? What are solutions to change negative attitudes?

Nowadays, many individuals think that foreign tourists have a negative impact on their nations. The reasons leading to harmful effects on the countries that people travel to will be discussed in this essay, along with some proposed solutions to mitigate these problems.

There are two main causes resulting in this practice. Firstly, tourism is considered to be increasingly developing; therefore, a large number of tourists come to the destination to travel. This means the environment becomes more polluted. Because more single-use plastic bottles and cans are used. Some people with poor awareness litter indiscriminately at tourist attractions. Secondly, locals are concerned about the possibility of a disease outbreak. In the past, some tourists did not know they were sick and brought the disease to other countries. For instance, COVID-19 originated in China, and resident in the epidemic area traveled everywhere, creating a pandemic.

Some solutions can be adopted to change bad attitudes. Instructing tourists not to litter and raising their awareness about the importance of keeping tourist areas clean is essential. It is possible to apply signs in multiple languages for foreign tourists and place more trash cans. In addition, governments could continue to conduct thorough health inspections at international airports. Healthy travelers should be educated on the symptoms of contagious viruses, while those who exhibit these symptoms must be immediately quarantined.

To conclude, although tourism provides many benefits to a country, there are still some locals who do not accept it. The main factors why international tourists are considered negative are environmental pollution and the fear of disease outbreaks. The government should take some actions to resolve this issue before more severe consequences happen.