Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While some people think that protecting endangered animal species is a waste of money, I disagree with the statement because I believe that the effort may offer an economic and educational value and bring a positive impact to biodiversity, which is invaluable for humans.

Firstly, although it is believed that saving threatened animals requires a big amount of money, the return on investment from the effort may be invaluable since it offers an economic and educational value for people. Preserving endangered animals may bring economic value, especially if the area is open to the public, such as zoos and national parks. Since usually people need to buy tickets to enter zoos and national parks, it may bring revenue to the related stakeholders. Furthermore, it also allows people who visit conservation areas to see and learn directly about the behaviors of threatened animals. As a result, people will have a broader knowledge about the earth species.

Secondly, saving endangered animal species contributes to safeguarding the biodiversity on earth. Every species plays an important role in the food chain. If one of the species becomes extinct, it can ruin and make the whole ecosystem unbalanced. For example, when the population of eagles witnessed a sharp decrease, the number of invasive species, which are rats, increased, impacting a large area of crop failures and great loss of money for farmers. In other words, protecting threatened species allows a balanced ecosystem, which is more valuable than money.

In conclusion, instead of wasting money, protecting endangered animal species may bring greater value than money. It allows the stakeholders to gain revenue from people who buy tickets to visit conservation areas, enhance people’s knowledge about protected species, and contribute to a balanced ecosystem.