Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it can be glaringly seen that the number of undergraduates had gap year has flourished exceptionally. With regard to this trend, some people believe that halting before starting a university year is a time abandon. Otherwise, many others argue gap year is beneficial for students. While both views are valid, I lean towards the latter.

There are convincing reasons why some people state that a year away from school is a futile time-consumption. Nevertheless, I firmly supposed it is comprehensively advantageous both mentally and physically. First of all, after an extremely competitive university entrance exam, students should have a period of time for relaxation and their hobbies to get a spirit to study efficiently. Apart from that, pupils can avail this period to gain more work experiences and explore deeper into their chosen faculty. According to recent researches, the majority of undergraduates in Vietnam chose the wrong major or have carrer unrelated to their qualifications. That is to say gap year is an opportunity for a more profound decision, since you can enrol to internships and works to find unaccounted for aspects of work-life. Consequently, it is a time-effective solution in case you seem to be unsuitable for your former choice of faculty.

On the other hand, besides the deniable advantages, it comes with setbacks, as well. If the students use their time wisely during academic break, it will be a beneficial idea. However, living without educational and rigorous limitations from school easily leads to a vice lifestyle, especially the individuals having weak self-discipline and ill-prepared time-management. Youngsters are prone to waste their time and money on extravagant entertainment affairs, get access to destructive people, and abandon their own selves. As a result, they may stop studying and find unsustainable jobs to sustain their permanent lives. Even if, they choose to continue at universities, they are more likely to feel lost and cannot integrate into the community.

In conclusion, from my perspective, having a year off for apprenticeship or travelling is completely a reasonable way to relieve stress, prepare for another phase, develop occupational skills, and witness more angles of your expected job. Having said that, it is prone for students to loose their study encouragements and stick to falling lifestyles. All in all, we should establish some compulsory limitations, and envisage a concrete schedule.