Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The demand and sale of imported items have increased over time. It is unhealthy and rather drastic for local manufacturers. Since the marketing sector is largely dependent on customers’ choices, the success and failure of the local economy are also in the hands of the public. For several reasons, the media, the advertisement industry, local economic policies, and propaganda warfare are to be held responsible for provoking public instinct.

To start with, the media has played a decisive role in promoting imported products. This is because of the reason that the popularity of social media has gained a new high among the public. TV shows and social media applications keep on advertising fancy items and people can hardly find an escape thus their desire gets a spark. Then there comes the advertisement industry which adds fuel to the fire. Iconic photography and videography of luxurious products do nothing but fan the flames of the veracious nature of mankind. Propaganda warfare and wrong economic policies of local governments knowingly or unknowingly help in replacing locally-made items with imported ones; compromising the quality and decreasing the competition among the manufacturers.

Exotic products, however, have become a nightmare for local industrialists. They are losing their clients on the one hand and facing the wrath of the economic downturn on the other. The local industry comes under the clutches of foreign indebtedness when they have to confront international lenders for the import bills for their produce. This ultimately paves the way for turmoil and chaos in the society.

So, the unending demand for foreign-made products is on the verge of taking over the local market. The locally tagged products are now less likely to attract a large number of consumers. This undoubtedly unwinds the disaster for the local economy. The more the governments keep giving the cold shoulder to the consequences of uncontrolled imports, the more it will be problematic for locals.