Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The prevalence of imported goods occupying the shelves in supermarkets is on the rise in recent years, supplanting the food produced locally. This essay argues that this heightened ubiquity, a completely positive development, is the result of the perceived higher quality of products from outside the country.

Through importing goods from international sources, supermarkets could convince customers to purchase the items, regardless of their actual merits. This attraction is the result of the appeal of novelty, compelling people to try and experience the culture of a distant nation. Therefore, supermarkets would take advantage of this desire in an endeavor to increase the revenue. To illustrate this point, consider the surging popularity of surstromming in recent years, a fermented fish dish from Sweden, and how the demand has led to its appearance in almost every supermarket in Europe.

In opening the market to foreign countries, the competition within a nation would be enhanced, resulting in the improvement of most companies. If these corporations want to continue their business, they would have to raise the quality of their offerings while also lowering the price in order to compete, which greatly benefits the consumers. The Korean Lotte mall chain, for instance, was the sole reason why other local companies in Asia had to implement policies to attract and retain customers. While strategies similar to this could maintain a business for a short period of time, it is not suitable for the long term, necessitating innovations that benefits consumers.

In conclusion, this essay considers there are many benefits to the increasing presence of imported goods for the public, which was the result of the positive public perception.