Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion #religion #

There is a debate among people about whether religious education should be taught or avoided in schools. Although, learning about any faith can be beneficial, I believe it can prove negative for both schools and students.

Those who argue in favour of religious teachings in school point out that it is an excellent way of becoming a better human being. Religion teaches us to show compassion and love to others irrespective of their caste, faith or race. It is often demonstrated by real life examples of priests, prophets and gurus who had chosen good over evil. Additionally, there are several traditions which are the embodiment of nobel deeds. For example, Diwali is celebrated through lighting up lamps and candles to eradicate darkness in both respects, literally and metaphorically.

However including religion in the curriculum can cause troubles. Firstly, schools will have to arrange classrooms and hire different religious scholars to teach due to having students from diverse religious backgrounds. These costs are prohibitive. Furthermore, religion can give birth to extremism because in many scriptures, there is a room for interpretation and therefore, people translate according to their own conveniences and benefits; as a result, individuals can get to blame these holy books for their own wrongdoings. For instance, in Bhagavad Geeta, the lord Krishna tells Arjuna to kill his enemies and people commit the same after reading it without understanding the context behind it.

In conclusion, despite the fact that religious teachings can make people more kind and loving, it should be refrained by schools due to the negative impacts it brings.