More and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

An increasing number of people are using e-books as a reading tool, such as a kindle, instead of traditional paper books. I believe there are significant benefits to using e-books over paper books with only a few minor drawbacks.

E-books have enormous advantages over the paper book mainly because of the vast number of books that an e-book device, namely a kindle, can contain. Kindles are able to contain thousands of books which you can categorise and organise on a device that is lighter than a tablet. For people who are travelling or those who want easy access to multiple books, these devices are perfect. Furthermore, e-books can be purchased with the click of a button giving instant access to the book without having to wait for delivery.

On the other hand, there is a downside to choosing an e-book over a paper book. The main issue is that it can be hard to find books on specialist subjects in electronic form. Many specialist and old books are only available as a paper book and can only be found in libraries. Another point to consider is that e-books are yet another device which people are glued to and that does have an impact on eye sight and health in general. It has long been known that people spend too much time on their devices and therefore reading a paper book might actually be preferable from time to time.

In conclusion, I think e-books have brought numerous gains to people’s lives through accessibility and convenience that truly benefit people’s lives, but there are disadvantages that should not be ignored.