More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer to this problem?

In this contemporary era, migration from rural areas to urban areas is becoming quite ubiquitous around the globe, for getting lucrative work opportunities in the metropolitan areas. This trend can has been growing with its adverse impacts; however to mitigate such scenario some effective steps can prove beneficial such as providing amenities in villages along with other benefits which will be explicated in the upcoming deliberations.

To inaugurate, there is a plethora of negative effects which can be considered. The preponderant one is adverse congestion due to housing crisis. To illustrate it, as more and more people will live in cities, the demand for accommodations increases rapidly resulting in scarcity of living space, for this people will reside in apartments which are congested due to high rent as well. Another worth mentioning result would the hiking demand of transportation, not only public but also private because people have to go to their workplace which would be easier to travel by own vehicle, if not possible they can travel on their own two or four wheeler. So, it will result in traffic congestion with rising amount of pollution especially air pollution. Thus, individuals will stay in filthy conditions.

Are there any steps which can be taken to alleviate this issue? Certainly, yes. First of all, governing authorities should provide appropriate infrastructure along with required facilities in rural areas for increasing the employment opportunities. Besides this, rurals must be motivated to establish own business firms with entrepreneurship programs as they can grow their dairy farming business as a side hustle with a main occupation in primary sector. To cite an epitome, in Australia people do farming and to maximize profit they aslo do dairy farming in this way they run their living and boom their career. Subsequently, such people can become independent.

To conclude, although there are consequences related to congestion and agriculture but these can be mitigated by taking the steps mentioned above.