More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer to this problem?

These days, a lot of people have started moving from countryside to cityside in search of better working opportunities. Although we cannot blame people immigrating for employment, we must recognize the effects of such wide scale immigration. One such consequence is the reduced number of farmers and as a result higher demand and prices of food. Some of the potential ways to resolve this would be to implement better revenue system for agriculture and to develop more advanced farming practices using biotechnology.

One of the straightforward results of people moving to cities is that there will be lesser people working in the agriculture industry. This decrease in farmers will cause an excessive demand for farmers and thereby increasing the farmers’ wages. This will eventually increase the overall cost of production of foods. And thus, the prices of food will start rising. For example, despite India being an agricultural country, in recent times, the prices of rice have amplified by manyfold due to lesser availability of farmers.

To overcome these adverse situations, the government must implement improved revenue system for farmers by providing them higher profits. For instance, if the government offers incentives for farmers who have produced quality goods, there will be extra profit for the farmers and therefore they are likely to continue farming. Another way is to invent better agriculture practices using biotechnology concepts. For example, genetically modified seeds can yield better goods than natural seeds thus increasing the productivity and profits for the farmers.

In conclusion, people shifting to developed cities for employment is an inevitable action resulting in reduced number of farmers and inflated food prices. To counteract, we must create opportunities for farmers by incentivising their yields and provide them with technologically advanced farming methods so that they can continue farming.