More and more people nowadays are living in mega-cities: cities with more than 20 million people. Is it positive or negative development?

In contemporary societies, it is becoming increasingly common to live in megacities, according to investigations. I am of the opinion that this change might bring about two main advantages in the long run.

One primary positive outcome of living in megacities is that it might lead to more opportunities. That is to say, when people live in cities that have more than 20 million residents, there will be more job prospects and other opportunities. That is to say, megacities concentrate on diverse and multinational corporations, leading to a wide range of work opportunities. As a result, it will become easier to earn money. If individuals live in less populated areas, say, in small towns, there may be a lack of specialized services and diverse facilities. Given that, living in megacities could be seen as something positive.

Another negative impact is that residing in megacities could result in beneficial results. In other words, work productivity and economic efficiency can result in high salaries, and there is easy access. This is because more cheaper and more efficient for the government and local businesses to provide affordable services. For example, by commuting to work you can find supermarkets, kindergartens,s and other things just on your way to work. Therefore, it is easier, faster, and more lucrative to reside in megacities.

In conclusion, a high salary or easier access could stem from residing in megacities. Thus, it is better to live in megacities to lead a convenient and luxurious life.