More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

Volunteering in third-world communities has become a trend among youth from developing countries. There are underlying reasons for this, and I believe that the local communities benefit more than the volunteers themselves. Perhaps the main contribution to this phenomenon is the experience gained by the volunteers, who seek valuable skills and knowledge. Additionally, they have the opportunity to form interpersonal relationships, which can be a significant advantage for their future careers. Furthermore, as volunteer leaders, young people gain the ability to express their ideas and connect with others who share similar perspectives to bring them into reality. Finally, young volunteering can be attributed to a sense of fulfillment. Volunteers seem to enjoy the feeling that they are making a contribution to help poor people to some extent. Moreover, the bonding activities bring a lot of fun and create a cozy atmosphere between the well-intended participants and local people.

When considering the positive effects on host communities, firstly, developing countries receive an intense amount of human resources to support local projects. For example, volunteers can be deployed to construct houses and schools for the impoverished or in rural areas. Furthermore, volunteering plays a pivotal role in the recovery efforts in response to natural disasters such as tsunamis, floods, and droughts. For instance, the 2004 Indian tsunami and earthquake attracted a large number of volunteers to support the host organizations and government. Finally, voluntary activities can reduce stereotypes, increase appreciation of the local culture, and on a worldwide level, educational activities can accelerate the globalization process.

In conclusion, while the increasing number of young volunteers can be attributed to the significant benefits they stand to gain for their own lives, I firmly believe that the host communities benefit more from this phenomenon.