Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of social media, an increasing number of young individuals have adored digital media influencers and sports celebrities. From my personal perspective, I strongly believe that blindly endorsing media and sports stars can bring adverse effects on both the individual and societal levels.

Firstly, the relentless pursuit of social media influencers and sports stars can exacerbate the detrimental impact of online cyberbullying. Specifically, young people who tend to fanatically support these stars are more likely to seek relevant information without careful consideration. If someone shares aversive posts regarding the stars they like, they are inclined to post uncivil or abusive content on the online platform, which may undermine a harmonious communication environment. Similarly, young people admiring film and sports stars tend to be involved in an echo chamber, an environment merely including voices made by like-minded individuals. As a result, it may lead to ideological polarization and group isolation, which warrant considerable attention.

Additionally, ceaselessly admiring media and sports opinion leaders may also limit the diversity of messages young people are exposed to. It is noteworthy that young individuals are more likely to be misled by distorted values. For instance, if stars admired by the younger generation post and encourage unhealthy diets, young people are inclined to trust such misleading behavior and carry out unhealthy behaviors, such as excessively losing weight. Consequently, such actions may bring severe negative outcomes on people’s health and well-being.

Although the admiration of media and sports celebrities plays a role in encouraging young people to pursue their own goals and challenge themselves, in most instances, it can cause a number of detrimental effects on the long-term and holistic development of youth.