Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morallty wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today, animals are tested during medical research to prevent unnecessary damage from the outcomes. Some individuals oppose these experiments and think that they should be illegal since they are cruelly harming the animal, whereas the other side completely agrees with this, as it is good for human society. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this trend. Although this practice has some benefits, such as saving thousands of lives and improving science and medical fields, there are also drawbacks, like breaking the biodiversity balance and resulting in inaccurate conclusions.

The most compelling reason that people are in favor of experiments is that they are maintaining longer life expectancy. This is because the medicines that are helping this aspect came from the labs, and those labs cannot manufacture them when they cannot do proper examination. As a result, people can enjoy their lives without the need to worry about what is wrong with their bodies. Another reason is that those studies can enhance knowledge in science and medical fields. If the researchers know what the side effects of specific medication are, they can avoid those mistakes and continue their research until they find a way to prevent or even cure the issues without hurting a human life.

However, despite the above arguments, I still oppose this practice. Indeed, one reason why I take this position is that this could eventually lead to an imbalance in nature. Some animals for the experiments are captured from wildlife which would reduce the population. Moreover, Non-native species can become invasive, competing with local animals for food and habitat, which threatens native biodiversity. A further reason I hold this view is that the final result from those experiments can be inaccurate. Although the remedy would work on test subjects, there is no evidence that it would work on humans, too. This misunderstanding could influence people’s health and, at worst, create more problems.

In conclusion, while both views are commonly held in society, the problems that humans create have nothing to do with animals.