Nowadays because of digital technology, it is possible for not only studios but also individuals to produce their films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

urrent developments in digital technologies open up opportunities for individuals to produce own films apart from professional studios. While films produced by private entities may lack some professional features, I believe it is a positive development since it fosters the overall development of cinematography over time.

It is literally impossible to find any industry where digital technology has not been incorporated. The film industry is probably most affected by various technological advancements, which enabled film producers to apply skills like animation, digital visual enhancement, and online broadcasting. As a result, the number of films produced grew exponentially, many of which can be attributed to individual filmmaking bodies. For example, YouTube is overloaded with films, podcasts – which I find as a new genre in the film industry; talks, and motivational videos. Most of them were filmed in a room with a “green background” which, then can be modified through digital tools. In individually filmed videos, usually one person is in charge of many responsibilities such as voice quality screen quality actors’ performance and even filming shooting.

Films produced by amateurs usually lack professional features. It is often due to time and financial constraints that producers are obliged to rely on low-quality plots, technical, and decorations. These factors combined may affect the end product, providing less screen life, low attendance, and overall failure of the project. As an example, I can point to the vast majority of films produced by Akhad Qayum, the Uzbek film producer. His countless films were not as successful as one film “Ilkhaq” which was filmed by UzbekKino, a professional filmmaking agency.

Although films produced by individuals may not keep up with professional filmmaking features, they enhance competition within the cinematography. With the increased amount of films available spectaculars develop taste and selective skills, meaning that, producers will be forced to pay attention to every detail and peculiarity of the film being produced. This strive for improvement will foster competition and overall development both for professional and amateur filmmakers. For example, in India, where over 800 films are produced annually, one-third of the GDP comes from film industries.

In conclusion, digital technologies positively impact on film-making industry by offering unlimited development opportunities. Despite the failure to fulfill some professional requirements, films produced by individuals benefit the entire industry by creating a competitive environment.