Nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this has set a bad example for young children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, many celebrities are known for their opulent lifestyles, physical appearances, and social media presence rather than for their talents or accomplishments. I absolutely agree that this practice sets a bad example for young people, who might begin to value celebrity and money more than effort and true success.

One significant factor in this alteration is the broadening reach of social media and reality television. The incredibly rich lifestyles of people who have a sense of entitlement to dramatic lifestyles of excess, as acquired by virtue of their images, or personal brands, or inherited monetary windfalls, rather than by evidence of skills, cleverness, or hard work, are freely displayed on all manner of social media platforms. The repeated posting of images of flimsy success potentially changes the public’s perspective on and definition of success, even though it does so quietly and insidiously.

As a result, focusing on the glamour and wealth rather than achievement serves as a poor example to young people. Children and teenagers, who are the most susceptible to influences portrayed in the media, might come to regard the apex of their life as obtaining fame and fortune by any means necessary. They may abandon every value that addresses the traditional road to success, studying hard to learn, committing oneself to a craft, or trying to succeed through perseverance in a difficult career. Instead, a culture may develop which increasingly embraces aspects of immediate gratification, superficiality instead of accomplishment, and materialism, all at the expense of those attributes, which offer real value, ideal habits, compassion, diligence, contribution, etc.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that celebrities known primarily for their looks and wealth are sending the wrong message to young people and society in general. Instead of touting the values of hard work, creativity, or compassion, they create a superficial definition of success in society. Society and the media should do more to recognize people that are worthy of recognition.