Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

With the sharp transition that can be observed in the families globally, from joint families to nuclear families, a common trend observed is that families are not as close as they used to be.

This can be attributed to a spectrum of factors ranging from changing mindsets, all the way to technology. As we further move along the 21st century, we see a big generation gap occurring between millennials and Gen Z, credited to changing mindset about cultures, gender, society just to name a few. The clash of interest, especially amongst parents and children, is what leads to disagreeability. rise of capitalistic society is another nail in the coffin of familyhood. Parents or elders in a family have been seen to focus more on rat race of earning higher salaries amidst inflation than to lend a helping hand to struggling family members. Oftentimes, struggling family members, including teens or elderly, need a non-judgemental ear to safely speak about problems rather than earning members throwing expensive parties and vacations to make up for their behaviour.

Investing in more quality time rather than its monetary counter parts could help combat this problem. Moreover, education and awareness on parenting could be considered so as to eradicate the problem of changing mindset. Additionally, since it is generally the parents who teens look up to, being more understanding, open minded and less judgmental towards needs and challenges of 21st century teenagers could make teenagers have a safety space where they could openly share their problems and seek right guidance rather than having to rely on peers, which comes with another set of disadvantages.