Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly (services, information, tasks). Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people have developed a tendency to get things done instantly. In my opinion, this behavioural change may lead to decreased productivity and the opposite of intended aim which is to save time. For instance, the pressure of continuous competition and deadlines has forced people working in the professional world to develop a habit of finishing their work quickly in an attempt to avoid getting replaced by someone more well rounded. While this may seem like an appropriate fix in the short term, it could have several negative implications such as stress and anxiety that one may fail to realise and can indirectly have an influence on work.

Considering our brain to be a source of energy, a hurried approach to tackling problems not only consumes more brainpower but it often dilutes other aspects which may be more detrimental in solving the issue at hand. Various people fall victims to this strategy in hopes of effective time management but end up with mediocre results. Moreover, this attribute seems to tangent upon other areas of life leading towards a feeling of inadequacy. For instance, a person always in the habit of completing tasks quickly might miss out on bonding with their with loved ones on a personal level.

It is essential to draw a boundary when approaching work with efficiency in contrast to being more well rounded since both approaches may lead varying results. It is important to prioritise health over work while also being mindful of passing time. A faster approach may not always be the beneficial one since even Rome wasn’t built in a day.