Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think that it is harmful to individuals and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there is no denying that we are facing many serious problems. As media platforms proliferate, many of these have garnered a great deal of publicity. However, some argue that this trend could have a negative influence on each person and society as a whole. Personally, I totally agree with this view.

On a personal level, this tendency could cause many severe effects on each individual. First, it can take a heavy toll on our mental health. That is to say, we are living in a fast pace of life with its responsibility, which is stressed enough as it is, and learning about negative issues that go on persistently such as the appalling state of pollution and gloomy economic outlooks make us even more depressed. Second, bad news is often exaggerated and thus prevents people from trying new things, especially for senior citizens who lack knowledge to identify the accuracy of information. For instance, while planes are statistically speaking the safest mode of transport, the reports of crashes often give readers a distorted impression and cause them to be averse to flying.

The harmful effects of bad news could lead to far-reaching repercussions on the societal level. Firstly, it contributes to the brain drain phenomenon. When people listen to a host of news and dysfunctional things that go on with their country, they tend to hold a grim view and want to move elsewhere, resulting in the decrease in level of trust among people. Additionally, negative public sentiment spurred by bad news could impact businesses, causing the plummet in their sails and losing trust on each potential customer.

In conclusion, whereas negative new reports help people stay updated with ongoing events and dangers, I am convinced that they are, to some extent, harmful to individuals and society.