Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. What causes obesity and how can it be solved?

Citizens of many nations face the problem of raising percentage of people that are fat, this problem is even more visible in wealthy countries. This essay will first suggest that lack of movement and consumption of highly pre-processed food are the main causes of this phenomenon and then argue that embracing new taxes on sugar and preservatives and building more sports facilities are the most viable solutions.

The prime reasons behind obesity are that more and more people do not practise sports and eat a lot of junky food. Nowadays, people put a lot of focus on their carriers and find it difficult to add a daily dose of workout in their timetables, which is necessary for the body’s health. Even more important is the fact that the same people often do not pay attention to their diet, which in result is poorly balanced and hard to digest to the organism. Many surveys show that the proportion of obese citizens is much lower in Japan compared to the USA, because the Japanese’s based on vegetables and fish diet is nutritious and healthy, whereas the American’s contain a lot of sugar and saturated fats.

Possible solutions to these problems would be to introduce new taxes on unhealthy ingredients and improving infrastructure for physical activities, especially in the cities. If the government increase the cost of sugar and preservatives, people will less likely buy the goods that were affected by the new law, so that the overall consumption of high-calorie products, such as sodas or sweets will decrease. The officials can also spend more money on building places where citizens can stay fit and burn the excess calories. For example, many surveys show that people are more likely to go running when the distance to the closest park or gym is closer.

In conclusion, the tendency for people to become fat is the result of the less active lifestyle and poor eating habits of many people, however, this problem can be addressed by making junky food more expensive and providing good sports infrastructure to the citizens.