One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The medical care is constantly getting better, and this is MAINLY DUE TO research advancements in the field of biotechnology and ONGOING studies in the field of early disease diagnosis by various academic institutions. These efforts HAVE MEANT THAT people are having higher life expectancy; however, there are drawbacks AS WELL AS benefits.

Higher life expectancy allows the elderly to spend more time with their families and their LOVED ones. There are also cases where the elders take financial care of their families, and thus their loss will result IN a strong effect on their livelihood. In contrast, findings that SHOW that people are living longer DO NOT actually CLARIFY what people’s life at the end LOOKS like. If people, for example, live AN EXTRA 3 years, but throughout these years they are in physical pain, then THESE medical advancements MAY ACTUALLY BE harming them. They WILL NOT be satisfied WITH living longer IF at the same time they are SUFFERING pain every day. This could be immoral because it is like they are trapped in a prison where they DO NOT have a say.

Physical pain is not the only problem; A patient’s mental health is also affected. If HIS OR HER condition needs constant care, HE OR SHE will feel that THEY ARE a heavy load on someone else. This could lead to an existential problem, where the senior citizen does not find meaning in THEIR life, leading to various psychological conditions, particularly if HE OR SHE has a GENETIC PREDISPOSITION.

I personally feel that higher life expectancy HAS done more harm than good because, as I said, it leaves the patient in pain without ALLOWING THEM TO CHOOSE what is better for THEM. IN ADDITION, it could affect THEIR OVERALL well-being.