Online classes make conventional classrooms unnecessary. To what extent do you agree/ disagree?

In today’s society, with the advent of the internet, distance learning has become increasingly prevalent in numerous educational institutions. This has led some individuals to believe that e-learning can render physical classroom modes redundant. While I understand the reasons for this thinking, I contend that learning on the internet cannot replace teacher-led classrooms.

Notably, there are compelling reasons why some people believe that internet-based learning offer more significant advantages than conventional one. For one, virtual learning can provide learners with more convenience and flexibility. This is because when acquiring knowledge through online lessons, students could study at their own pace and at the comfort of their home. A prime example of this is that although multiple students live in remote areas, they still attend lessons through devices connected with the internet, which helps them accessible to education with ease. In addition, schools also reap a host of benefits from e-learning. Unlike traditional teaching that requires huge resources to operate like teaching staff, cutting-edge equipment, and electricity, the demands for online classrooms are more economical in the form of fewer teachers, devices, and much less electricity use because merely few teachers together with some equipment can deliver lessons to thousands of learners over time.

Nevertheless, regardless of the aforementioned desired outcomes, I contend that the drawbacks stemming from virtual classes are far more significant compared to the upsides. Firstly, internet-connected learning may not be effective for the majority of students, as virtual learning often leans towards one-way interactions, where teachers strive to impart knowledge by means of their voice, screen, and some teaching aids. As a result, students rarely have any chances to engage in two-way interactions like live discussions, group work, or debates. Aside from this, there can be a decline in learners’ physical and mental health. The reason for this is that when students learn online, especially the young, they may be prone to a number of digital addictions, such as excessive gaming, binge-watching or overusing social media like Facebook or Zalo for entertainment purposes. This could lead to their backache, myopia or even obesity in addition to their isolation with people nearby and potential depression.

In conclusion, although learning on the internet holds significance, such as convenience, flexibility and fewer resources, I still maintain these advantages pale in comparison with the disadvantages, including the ineffectiveness and a decrease in health.