People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Many people decide to keep all the money they earn and do not pay tax to the state. In this context, I firmly disagree due to law violation. Moreover, it represents a bad behaviour as citizens.

Paying tax to the state is an obligation for citizens within a nation. When the government has introduced a law, it means citizens have to comply with the rules in order to make harmony within society. If people do not pay their taxes as their income, it can be judged as a crime and must be given any relevant sanctions. For instance, in business context, many companies avoid taxation by saving their money on their hidden bank accounts. However, there are procedures that are implemented by relevant authorities to conduct financial audit if they find suspected organizations or individuals related to financial violations, including taxation.

Furthermore, taxation policy is not only about laws and rules, yet it is a national approach in developing a better country. The money that are collected from taxation contribute to the national budget, as it is a part of cross subsidies. For instance, infrastructure development is required in order to create a more liveable city for its local people. However, it needs a large number of budget; thus, the local government make a budget plan and tax usually accounts for certain portion of the total required budget. From this point of view, taxation policy has positive impacts on improving people’s quality of life within society.

In conclusion, saving all the money and do not pay tax represent poor behaviour as citizens. Besides it is an obligation, paying tax is also a part of support to the national development.