People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working longer hours is increasingly popular in our society these days. I personally believe that this trend not only has serious effects on employees themselves but also on their family and the whole community. Therefore, I completely agree with the idea of limiting the working time.

A few decades ago, a person normally worked an average of eight hours per day. However, the average number of working hours per day has increased significantly in recent years up to 10 or even 14 hours. In my opinion, this has negative effects on health and productivity of staff. For instance, people who spend longer hours at work are more likely to suffer from various health problems, ranging from tiredness to more severe problems such as anxiety disorders or even stroke. My cousin is a case in point above. Working 12 hours on a daily basis, he usually feels exhausted and makes more errors at work than he used to.

I also think that working hours last long which has serious consequences on families and communities. From a family perspective, hectic work schedules make people unable to visit their family frequently and even not have meals together. Relatives of family’s members would be in extreme decline if they did not give time to each other. As for community life, people who overwork do not spend time for charity activities that bring benefits to their society. For example, my uncle hardly has time for serving community projects in local areas like conservation or working with a charity organization because he works more than 60 hours per week.

In conclusion, I would argue that society should reduce working hours because frequent lasting work results in negative impacts on employees, their relationship with family members and their communities.