People who decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it are more likely to have a satisfying working life than those who change jobs frequently.To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Deciding a career is a very a crucial part of everyone’s lives. Some beleive that choosing it early and sticking to it is a better approach than frequently changing ones choices. While I do think that job shifts can be difficult at times but I disagree that a consistent career path is always the best choice.

People who are clear on what they want to do from an early age are likely to be more self-aware and focused. They spend time in improving their skills and gaining expereince in their relevant field, thus becoming an expert eventually. For example, someone who want to pursue tech will start engaging in internship programs and bootcamps from the time of their college or university. To add upon, changing jobs frequently also leaves a bad impression on ones resume.

However, I beleive that the expectation of having clarity from the start of your professional journey is very unrealistic. Many people realise that the job they have chosen for themselves is not the right fit after practically spending time doing it. Thereafter, continuing that job becomes mentally and physically draining. Also the chance that they will grow in it reduces. For instance many engineers move towards management roles at some point. Moreover in some cases the work opportunities of a particular profession diminish with time due to market evolutions, leaving no choice for individuals but to consider alternative careers.

To conclude, I do agree that the “grasshopper” practice effects mental peace and is seemed badly by many employers but sometimes there are valid reasons and therefore the flexibility of changing jobs should be accepted.