Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Copying one’s work without their consent has turned into a serious issue in educational institutions around the world. While there are some reasons that can explain why this is the case, a number of effective measures can be taken to combat plagiarism.

There are two causes behind why increasingly more students these days opt for plagiarism. One of these is that some students have a laid back attitude to their studies or are too indolent to complete a given assignment themselves. The emergence of the internet and various platforms with published articles, reports and course materials works to the advantage of such students, leading to instances of cheating. While of course the consequences of this action can be severe, the only purpose they have is to graduate from their university by any means. Yet another factor behind plagiarizing is high expectations of both parents and students. Some parents exert pressure on their children to excel in all subjects on the curriculum, be it relatively easy ones or challenging ones. They do so because higher marks can be a determining factor for employment, for it serves as a proof of a high level of intelligence and expertise. Students themselves can also be too ambitious, since some universities provide scholarships, grants or discounts for those who display academic excellence. All these factors can be motivations for the inappropriate act of plagiarism.

Nevertheless, the issue of plagiarism is not insurmountable due to several suggestions below. First and foremost, strict measures should be introduced by universities and other learning establishments aimed at punishing those who are caught plagiarizing. For example, students could be expelled from their universities for plagiarizing, as it is likely to send a message to others that they can face the same fate if they do the same. This solution seems too stringent at a glance, yet it is effective because if students plagiarize, they become incompetent individuals who are useless for their countries. The second step that can be taken is to reform the examination and assessment systems. Instead of giving students assignments with deadlines, such as courseworks and reports, universities can organize on-the-spot exams under strict conditions. Strict invigilation tends to be effective, as it eliminates any need to copy and demonstrates the true knowledge level of students.

To sum up, attitudes some students hold towards their studies coupled with high personal and parental expectations can urge students to cheat by plagiarizing. However, steps taken, such as strict punishments and changing assessment types, can be feasible solutions to tackle, or at least mitigate, plagiarism.