"Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Criminal issues are a rising concern in the world forum. There still remains a controversial topic about whether lawbreakers should be sent to education and job training classes rather than be kept in jails. From my perspective, I think that whether law offenders should be put behind bars or not largely depends on the crime levels.

On the one hand, for unintended behaviors, it is necessary to give criminals a second chance for their future lives. Let me take a chaotic combat at the bar as an example. A man was talking with his friends, then a group of drunk people appeared and suddenly attacked him. In self-defense, he used force, leading to the accidental death of one of the assailants. While this situation involves the most serious unlawful act—taking a life, it is not a calculated action. Therefore, criminals responding like him should be provided another chance to reattach to society instead of being put in prison. Also, those who are deprived from unfortunate family backgrounds should be considered to decrease their crimes. Clearly, the cares and the nourishment of the family greatly contribute to one’s character formulation. I wonder how good a child becomes if he is born in a bad condition with parents who engage in theft and bullying actions. Psychologically, children will unconsciously imitate whatever their parents do because they are not fully aware of the serious consequences and harsh punishment of those offenses, which brings them closer to criminal tendencies. Consequently, these wrongdoers having an imperfect childhood should be sent to education and job training classes to help them reform themselves.

On the other hand, severe punishment is considered a preventive measure and a deterrent effect. Certainly, there still remain potential criminals who are preparing for the crimes. When the law of sending guilty persons to jail is strictly implemented, the fear of spending a lifetime in a cold cramped room will prevent some evil-minded individuals from violating the laws. Imprisonment represents the sanctity of the laws, warning everyone of doing illegal. Furthermore, putting law offenders behind bars surely balances social order. For example, if I stay in an isolated and insecure area, I will be extremely nervous in case the new murderer is released immediately after conducting criminal behavior without law punishment. Thus, detecting bad guys in time and putting them in jail is not only one of the most effective ways to protect public safety but also for the Government to strengthen the citizens’ trust in the justice system and reinforce their belief in the rule of law.

To sum up, those who have authority should deeply consider the crime’s seriousness before carrying out the penalties. Besides, the Government lets prisoners study in classes that educate them to recognize their flaws as well as improve themselves and never fall back into the former unacceptable way. Only by doing it can we ensure that we will live in a safe and healthy environment.