Question Many believe that it is important to protect all wild animals, while others think that it is important to protect some, not all of them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Endangerment of wildlife has been a growing concern at a global level for many years but we need to assess our approach of protecting wild animals. Many argue that we should ensure every wildlife is protected irrespective of their level of endangerment but some say that we should only focus on safeguarding certain types of wildlife due to our limited resources. These arguments have been discussed in further detail along with my opinion on the matter below.

It can be argued that all forms of life are precious and it is immoral to ignore one life and protect another. Besides, if all wild animals are protected at all times there will never be a threat of any animal becoming endangered thus, such a step can be a proactive measure towards wildlife protection. For instance, many countries have strict laws which prohibits hunting of any kind or even entering forests without permission from the authorities is not allowed. Such measures have made these countries highly safe for animals to live in according to the wildlife monitoring agencies.

However, we need to consider the fact that the manpower and funds available for wildlife protection are limited so we need to prioritize the safety of the highly endangered animals over others. Enforcing forest laws requires a large number of police personnel and building wildlife sanctuaries is a major public expense therefore certain creatures should be focused upon to ensure the success of these protection measures. Like, India has long emphasized on the protection of tigers in West Bengal after tigers became endangered due to the rampant poaching prevalent in the forests. The decision to prioritize tigers has resulted in a significant reduction in their hunting-related deaths.

It can be concluded that protecting all wildlife is a highly moral and proactive approach to safeguard animals however due to the limited nature of government’s resources targeting only certain types of species can be considered to provide more effective results. In my opinion, efforts should be made to protect all forms of wildlife as it is more ethical to do so and being a proactive measure, it provides a greater room for error in implementation.